Using Privilege For Good

Those words are pretty dissonance generating, no?

But that’s how my actions today were described by a friend. Here’s what happened:

This guy came up to me when I was doing laundry asking about one of my neighbors. Apparently they had dated and he wanted to get back together. That wouldn’t have been disconcerting, but then he started asking if she was seeing other people. I do not know my neighbors really, but even if I did, there was no way I was gonna tell this guy.

So I resolved to tell her about this if I saw her. Well, that was 2pm. And as of 730, he was still hanging out around her apartment. Maybe he went home in the intervening time, who knows. But I called the cops.

I guess it’s the diplomatic streak in me, but I really do relate to the people who want to avoid confrontation. But sometimes avoiding confrontation can have worse consequences. I had no idea what this guy was gonna do.

My friend Kassiane told me, “Good call. You did the right thing (and you used your privilege for good, they don’t take it seriously if women express concerns about that behavior).”

The thing about privilege, is you’ll always learn new things about how the unprivileged live. And this is something I’d never considered. Have you ever experienced a situation where you had to get over your fear of conflict to do the right thing?

Leave a Reply

